Automatic renewal

Domain names are not automatically renewed at Gandi unless you have specifically activated that service. If you have not enabled automatic renewal on your domain name (and you don’t renew manually), you will not be charged, your domain registration will expire, and your domain name will be deleted. The deletion time after the expiration date varies from 1 to 65 days, depending on the extension.

How to enable/disable automatic renewal

For just 1 domain

Only the domain’s owner, or a user that is a member of the owner team of the domain, the administrative contact, or the billing contact can enable/disable automatic renewal for a domain.

To activate automatic renewal for a domain:

  1. click on the “Activate” that you see from your domain’s Overview page after “Automatic renewal disabled”,
  2. toggle “Automatic renewal status” to “Enabled,
  3. choose the account that you want to bill.

To disable automatic renewal, you will choose “Disable” from the domain’s overview page like above.

For multiple domains

To enable/disable automatic renewal for more than 1 domain:

  1. from your domain list, switch to “Table view”,
  2. Check the boxes of the domains you want to , and then choose “Auto Renew” on the bottom of the page.
  3. toggle “Automatic renewal status” to “Enabled,
  4. choose the account that you want to bill.

To disable automatic renewal, you will choose “Disable” from the same toggle.

How does it work?

Automatic renewal can occur at 31 days, 15 days, and 1 day before the expiration date of the domain (depending on if funds are available in the chosen prepaid account at those times). When it is done, the domain’s Billing Contact will be notified by e-mail.